Sanctuary

In the first year of the Bachelor’s degree we had an assignment called Asylum/Sanctuary. We had to choose one or the other, and then find a place which represented our choice, so we could practice our newly learnt technical skills. I chose Sanctuary and went to a Tibetan Buddhist Centre, which is described as a “peaceful and beautiful oasis in the city”. It was indeed very peaceful and quiet with lots of native pukeko’s walking around the grounds. 

Pukeko
This is one of the Pukeko’s and for this one and the next photo
I practiced “panning”. It did not quite work, because both subjects have blurry feet, but it was a good start.

Robes

Prayer Wheel

For this last image of the prayer wheel I practiced showing movement, whereby the subject is blurry and the background stays in focus. My settings were 1/6, F3.5 and ISO 100 and I did not have a tripod with me, which would have been better with such a slow shutter speed.
I could have easily used a higher ISO setting, so that I could have used a smaller aperture to get the background more in focus.

Still, I enjoy looking back at these images and that’s why I am posting them!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

